

## **State Government Committee**

Senator Cris Dush, Chair

Capitol Building, Room 9 East Wing ◆ Harrisburg, PA 17120-3025 ◆ (717) 787-7084 cdush@pasen.gov ◆ senatorcrisdushpa.com

May 7, 2025

Reggie McNeil Secretary of General Services, Department of General Services Room 515 North Office Building, Harrisburg, PA 17125 Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Secretary McNeil:

We are writing to inquire about the Property Disposition Plan, which the Department of General Services is required to develop pursuant to Section 2403-A of Act 175 of 1929, known as the Administrative Code of 1929.

Per Section 2404-A of the Administrative Code of 1929, this plan must be submitted to the Chairmen and Minority Chair of the House and Senate State Government Committees not later than May 1 each year so that we may have a hearing on the contents of the plan by June 1. As of the date of this letter, the Senate State Government Committee has still not received this plan from your department. Additionally, it is our suspicion that your department has not submitted this plan for several years. The requirement for this plan to be posted to the Pennsylvania Bulletin has not been satisfied since **2013.** 

In the absence of this statutorily required plan, the Department of General Services has severely mismanaged the disposition of properties such as the White Haven Center, Polk Center, Hamburg Center, and Wernersville State Hospital. The Department has even suggested that legislation is necessary to dispose of these properties. It has always been the responsibility of the Department of General Services to dispose of these properties and to report to the general assembly on their plans to dispose of these properties.

We believe this plan to be an absolute necessity for transparency and efficiency, and we urge your department to fulfill your statutory duty and submit a surplus property disposition plan to this committee as soon as possible.

Signed, Members of the PA State Government Committee.

Senator Cris Dush Chair Senator Kim Ward
President Pro Tempore

Senator Kristin Phillips-Hill

Senator Dave Argall

Senator Doug Mastrian

Senator Pat Stefano

Senator Judy Ward