Dush, Smith Confirm $721,000 Awarded for Jefferson County Infrastructure Improvements

HARRISBURG – Sen. Cris Dush (R-25) and Rep. Brian Smith (R-66) announced today that $721,138 has been awarded for three Jefferson County infrastructure improvement projects.

“Strategically bundling infrastructure upgrades, drainage improvements, utility work and other quality of life enhancements whenever possible are proven methods to reducing overall construction costs, increasing public safety and minimizing disruptions for Jefferson County residents and job creators,” Dush said. “We all share the benefits of an adequately funded and properly maintained local transportation infrastructure.”

“As a former truck driver and trucking business owner, I can’t stress enough how important it is to stay on top of our road maintenance,” Smith said. “Our goods can only get where they need to go if there’s a stretch of asphalt to get them there. This funding will help offset the high costs of these important projects to our local municipalities.”

Specific projects and funding amounts are as follows:

  • $350,000 was awarded to the Falls Creek Borough Main Street Revitalization Project for sidewalk replacement, streetscape improvements and to address additional pedestrian safety concerns.
  • $259,138 was awarded to the Jefferson County Service Center Road Improvement Project, which includes paving and reconstruction. Service Center Road is a vital connection between several Jefferson County facilities, including the county jail and county communications office, six private sector businesses employing 420 workers, and major transportation routes.
  • $112,000 was awarded to Sykesville Borough for the resurfacing of Kauffman Street and Sykes Alley.

The grants were awarded through the Multimodal Transportation Fund administered by the Commonwealth Financing Authority. The fund was created to encourage economic development and ensure that a safe and reliable system of transportation is available to the residents of the commonwealth.


CONTACT:  Ty McCauslin, Communications Director at 717-787-7084 or tmccauslin@pasen.gov.

Back to Top